Let me recommend a book

Namaste folks!

Yay, it’s time for book recomendations! Are you as excited as I am? 😀

This month I want to recommend the following book:

9328

This is the novel The house of the spirits by the chilenean writer Isabel Allende

Here is patriarch Esteban, whose wild desires and political machinations are tempered only by his love for his ethereal wife, Clara, a woman touched by an otherworldly hand. Their daughter, Blanca, whose forbidden love for a man Esteban has deemed unworthy infuriates her father, yet will produce his greatest joy: his granddaughter Alba, a beautiful, ambitious girl who will lead the family and their country into a revolutionary future.

The House of the Spirits is an enthralling saga that spans decades and lives, twining the personal and the political into an epic novel of love, magic, and fate.

The House of the Spirits was the first novel I read in spanish and therefore will always have a special place in my bookshelf. I was 17 I think when I first read it and I still reread it from time to time. You might already know this one, as it is one of the best known latinamerican novels in modern times.
Now, why do I love that book? There is so much happening! You follow the members of this family through decades. You suffer with them, you are happy with them, you cry, you laugh… It just gets to you. You learn a lot about Latin America as well and what it means to live in unsteady times. I don’t usually read or even enjoy epic familiar dramas, but I do love this one. I love Allende and I love her way of telling a story.

One thought on “Let me recommend a book

  1. Thanks for the sensible critique. Me & my neighbor were just preparing to do some research on this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned much more clear from this post. I’m pretty glad to see such exceptional information being shared freely out there.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

