Reading challenge

Namaste folks!

It was time for another reading challenge and I was so looking forward to this challenge as it was to listen to an audiobook.

I have to say before I start with my challenge – I love audiobooks! I love them, I love them, I love them soo much! I also love radio dramas – Seriously, my mp3 datas on my computer are about 80% spoken content and only about 20% music. I rather walk down the street, go shopping, or whatever, with someone reading a book into my ears than listening to music (although I also love to listen to music!).

For that challenge though, as I wanted to be a challenge I listened to an audiobook in english, which I never did before. Exciting!

35

I decided to listen to Harry Potter and the philosopher’s stone by JK Rowling, read by Stephen Fry.

Harry Potter’s life is miserable. His parents are dead and he’s stuck with his heartless relatives, who force him to live in a tiny closet under the stairs. But his fortune changes when he receives a letter that tells him the truth about himself: he’s a wizard. A mysterious visitor rescues him from his relatives and takes him to his new home, Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.
After a lifetime of bottling up his magical powers, Harry finally feels like a normal kid. But even within the Wizarding community, he is special. He is the boy who lived: the only person to have ever survived a killing curse inflicted by the evil Lord Voldemort, who launched a brutal takeover of the Wizarding world, only to vanish after failing to kill Harry.
Though Harry’s first year at Hogwarts is the best of his life, not everything is perfect. There is a dangerous secret object hidden within the castle walls, and Harry believes it’s his responsibility to prevent it from falling into evil hands. But doing so will bring him into contact with forces more terrifying than he ever could have imagined.

So far so good. Of course I am well aware of the fact that this book might be a book everyone has already read in his or her life. I sure have many countless times. And although these challenges encourage you to read (in this case listen to) something new I felt like it was ok to listen to this one as I listened to it in english which I never did before. Also, I think my english is ok in a written form, but it was a whole new thing for me to concentrate on a foreign language and on the plot.
I wont loose many words on how I loved the story, I guess Harry Potter is this one series we can all agree on. I have never met a single person who did not love it and of course I am one of these people as well. I adore Potter.
Another reason I picked this book was because Stephen Fry reads it. I have to say – I always had a little crush on Stephen Fry, ever since I first saw Bits of Fry and Laurie. He is one of the brightest, most intelligent and most hilarious people I know. I adore him and I adore the way he reads Harry Potter. He does the most wonderful voices and it was easy to follow, to understand and he always caught my attention. I find it easier to follow the british accent and Stephen Fry’s voice is so rich, vibrant, full of energy… He does an amazing job on all the different accents, he brings Harry Potter to live! I am not sure I ever will be able to listen to the german audiobooks again and I am currently listening to the chamber of secrets ♥

Leave a Reply

