Let me recommend a book

Namaste folks!

It’s this time of the month again! Yay! Book recommendation time! This month I will recommend you a really cool book!

6693479

This is the play “the Physicists” by the swiss author Friedrich Dürrnematt.

The Physicists is a provocative and darkly comic satire about life in modern times, by one of Europe’s foremost dramatists and the author of the internationally celebrated The Visit. The world’s greatest physicist, Johann Wilhelm Möbius, is in a madhouse, haunted by recurring visions of King Solomon. He is kept company by two other equally deluded scientists: one who thinks he is Einstein, the other who believes he is Newton. It soon becomes evident, however, that these three are not as harmlessly lunatic as they appear. Are they, in fact, really mad? Or are they playing some murderous game with the world as the stake? For Möbius has uncovered the mystery of the universe—and therefore the key to its destruction—and Einstein and Newton are vying for this secret that would enable them to rule the Earth. Added to this treacherous combination is the world-renowned psychiatrist in charge, the hunchbacked Mathilde von Zahnd, who has some diabolical plans of her own. With wry, penetrating humor, The Physicists probes beneath the surface of modern existence and, like Marat/Sade, questions whether it is the mad who are the truly insane.

About a year ago I recommended another awesome play by Dürrenmatt “The Visit” and now the time for this wonderfly weird story has come. I normally don’t like to read plays very much, they tend to come off as stiff, emotionless and boring. A play always needs a stage and not a reader. But, and here is my but: No rule without an exception – this play kicks the other plays butts. It plays with your mind, I never had the impression of completley understanding the whole situation, even after I finished it I was not quite sure what the heck happened there. But whatever it was – it is highly entertaining. I love how Dürrenmatt plays with words and sentences, and I had to laugh more than just one time. I was always wondering who was the insane one in the end, maybe they were all mad, maybe non of them.. maybe me? I am not quite sure ^^’ Either way – it’s an intriguing story and I love Dürrenmatts work.

Leave a Reply

