Reading challenge

Namaste folks!

It was time for another reading challenge and the task was to read a book that was recommended by another participant! I decided to read this book:

 

28700205

This is Cover me in Darkness by the american writer Eileen Rendahl.

Amanda Sinclair has to fight harder than most for everything she has after fleeing the cult that left her brother dead at her mother’s hand. Amanda works a quiet job in quality control for a small cosmetics company, trying to leave her past behind her—until she learns that her mother has committed suicide in the mental ward where she’s been locked away for the past ten years.

At first, Amanda believes that her mother killed herself, but when she looks through the personal belongings left behind, it seems her death may be related to the upcoming parole hearing for cult leader Patrick Collier. Teaming up with her mother’s psychologist, Amanda starts to peel away the layers of secrets that she’s built between herself and her own past, and what she finds is a truth that’s almost too big to believe.

I chose that book because the synopsis seemed really interesting. It is far beyond my comfort zone genres, so I had kind of a hard time to get into the story. I was intrigued by the premise and all the ingredients for an awesome novel were there, but somehow I could not really connect to Amanda, the main character. I was literally sitting there shouting “Why?! Why are you doing this?!” at my book, because her actions were not at all comprehensible to me. It is a well written book and a quick read, but slow paced, predictable and partially even boring. It was a decent book, but I just could not connect to it. I’d give 2.5 stars out of 5.

Leave a Reply

