Reading challenge

Namaste folks!

Another reading challenge! Oh joy! The task was to read a book that was written by a female writer. Sounds easier than it was xD

Stupid me read 4 books in total. The first two were german books and I only learned later that there was no english tranlation (you might think that I would have learned my lesson after reading the first book – but no :P).

I also read the new Harry Potter play (loved it!), until I realized, that Joanne K. Rowling didn’t  write it, and that the person who actually wrote it was male xD

So in the end I read this one:

celiarees

This is Pirates! a book by the british writer Celia Rees.

Nancy Kington, daughter of a rich merchant, suddenly orphaned when her father dies, is sent to live on her family’s plantation in Jamaica. Disgusted by the treatment of the slaves and her brother’s willingness to marry her off, she and one of the slaves, Minerva, run away and join a band of pirates.

For both girls the pirate life is their only chance for freedom in a society where both are treated like property, rather than individuals. Together they go in search of adventure, love, and a new life that breaks all restrictions of gender, race, and position.

I already read two books by Celia Rees, Witch Child and Sorceress, wich are both great books and so I did expect this book to be awesome as well.

What can I say – it is a good book. I liked the fact, that even though Nancy and Minerva are women in a patriachal society, they are able to find their own paths. They dress as men and join a pirates life, and as we all learned from Captain Jack Sparrow – Pirates are awesome!

I like the fact, that you can watch Nancy grow as a person, from the little girl that did what she was told to do,to the young woman that stood for that what she believed in and who wanted to choose her own faith.
There is also some subtle romance going on, but really innocent. That bothered me a little to be honest, as I enjoy a good romance, but in the end, it is still a great book and I’d recommend it to anyone!

 

One thought on “Reading challenge

  1. Pingback: Reading challenge | schnitzelmitkaese

Leave a Reply

