Passport challenge: Ecuador

img_0926-3

Namaste folks!

The same way I discovered Denmark a couple of weeks ago I will now travel to América Latina and visit Ecuador!

¡¡¡Ayayayay!!

I have never been to Ecuador so my knowledge concerning this country is pretty limited.
So I did the thing I always do first when I don’t have a clue about something – I go and ask uncle wikipedia!

 

Ecuador’s name comes from the Equator, which divides it unequally, putting most of the country in the Southern Hemisphere. It may be the smallest Andean country, but it has four distinct and contrasting regions. The Costa, or coastal plain, grows enough bananas to make the country the world’s largest exporter of the fruit. The Sierra, or Andean uplands, offers productive farmland. Oil from the Oriente, jungles east of the Andes, enriches the economy. The Galápagos Islands, volcanic islands 960 kilometers west of Ecuador, bring tourism revenue with its unique reptiles, birds, and plants.

A very good friend of mine spent a year in Ecuador as a volunteer and she told me a lot about Quito, the people and the food! She also sent me some postcards while she was there. As this is one of the first points of contact I ever had with Ecuador, I want to share one of the cards here, as I think it is really pretty:

You can read the blogpost to this card *here*

In Ecuador, as in most South American countries, the official language is spanish, along with some amerindian languages like Quichua. I love a diversity in languages and I really find the languages of the american indigenous people interesting! And I get really exciting when the languages get mixed up! Uhhhh there comes the linguist inside me out to play 😀

I have found this song from Ecuador which is sun in Quichua (o Kichwa) and I really like it a lot. I am sure you’ll like it as well.

Sounds cool, hm?

I think the most popular dish from Ecuador is Ceviche, everyone should eat Ceviche, it’s a great dish! I understand that there are a lot of different manners to prepare it, Ceviche from the south is different to the Ceviche from the north… I cook Ceviche quite a lot, because I really like it and I use a recipe my friend (the one staying a year in Quito) taught me. It is very  yummy, very refreshing soup!

Ceviche de Camarón-page-001 (1)

I love this recipe, Ceviche is a great dish! And I can really recommend it. I don’t usually eat seafood, but this soup I love! You should add some unsalted “palomitas” Popcorn to this soup (might sound odd, but it is really good!) or bananachips! So yummy!!

Speaking of foods, Guinea pigs are considered a delicacy in Ecuador O.o. No thanks haha

One thought on “Passport challenge: Ecuador

Leave a Reply

