Passport challenge: Denmark

img_0926-3

Namaste folks!

I was really looking forward to this swap! The task was to visit a country through music, food, books and everything that would cross the mind! Exciting! I have never done something like this, but it did sound really intriguing!

So the country for this round was Denmark!

 

The first thing I did was checking Denmark out on wikipedia

12968783_10207636004992890_1082293656_n

I don’t know why, but I find monarchies kind of cool. Maybe because it is something we don’t have in Germany. I always find it sweet how the royal families of the european countries are loved by the people. Sometimes it makes me feel sad that we don’t have something like this here ^^’ (Although I am absolutely pro Republic and Democracy).

When I think about Denmark the first thing that crosses my mind is, that a good friend of mine got married there. She was marrying a person who was not from Germany, which would cause a lot of troubles in Germany. It was possible, but way too complicated. So they went to Denmark and got married there. I could not join them back then sadly, but I have seen pictures and it looked really lovely. So I guess Denmark is a pretty chilled country, at least compared to Germany. Germany is not chilled at all guys xD

The next thing I thought about, was a movie I recently watched: The Prince and Me
an american movie after all. But the girl falls in love with the danish prince. And it was partially shot in Denmark. I found it quite amusing, so I am leaving you a trailer.


Best way to approach a country, at least in my eyes is to listen to its music. To be honest I don’t know any danish music. Not one artist, nothing. Zero. Nada. Luckily one smart genius guy invented youtube and other great people made playlists of danish music! Thank you youtubeusers for doing this btw. Helped me a lot, because I had no idea where to start on this.
So I put “danish music” in the searchfunction and 1 1/2 hours later – no kidding –  I can give you three songs I really find cool:

1. Pharfar – La´ Mig Rulle Dig

 

2. Sanne Salomonsen – Hjem

 

3. Mads langer – Overgir mig langsomt

 

Obviously there is a lot of english music going on in Denmark too. Great music! But I decided to only put music in danish, because this way you also get an impression of the language. I like the way it sounds. 😀 It sounds very familiar, as I think the intonation is a lot like in german, but at the same time I don’t understand anything. Obviously xD I also think that it sounds softer and a lot less edgy than german, which I think is nice. I could listen to this music a lot longer and maybe I will, who knows 😀 Music is great everywhere after all. If you understand the music or not.

 

What else? Well I was also browsing a little for danish food and recipes and there was one recipe of a cucumber salad that crossed my paths quite a lot (really, it was literally everywhere – god knows why). So I tried it.

Agurkesalat-page-001

I realize that this is a pretty simple dish, but well. At least I always got a cucumber lying around! I was quite curious about all the sugar, I never imagined it would taste good, but it really did! I think I will make this more often now,  I guess it would make a great side dish to fish!

Last but not least I went to my Mothers hoouse to look for that book of fairy tales by Hans Christian Andersen. It has been a long time since I last read one of these tales. Of course everyone knows Arielle, but the original little mermaid is nothing like this. I don’t like it to be honest, it is too cruel to be beautiful. If you like, read it *here*.
I really did like the story of Thumbelina, this is really a sweet story 🙂

All in all I really like the things I discovered about Denmark! BTW, did you know? The UN World Happiness Report has rated Danes as the happiest people two years in a row. Awesome hu?

One thought on “Passport challenge: Denmark

  1. Pingback: Passport challenge: Ecuador | schnitzelmitkaese

Leave a Reply

