Kitchen challenge!

Namaste folks!

This month I started a kitchen challenge which was: Bake a cake!

I a normally really no good baker, I rarely bake anything, but I thought – well, why not. It could go really bad, but at least you tried xD Instead of seeing all my expectations coming true I managed it quite ok, so yay here comes the result of my kitchen challenge:

I decided to bake a typical german cake, the Blackforest cake, or as we say in German: Schwarzwälderkirsch Torte.

 

Ingredients:

100g dark chocolate
100g soft butter
150g sugar
2 Pkt Vanilla sugar
5 eggs
100g flour
50g cornstarch
50g grounded almonds
1 Tablespoon baking powder
1 glass sour cherries
Cherry jam
800g cream
4 tablespoons kirsch
chocolate slivers
grease for the form

Preparation: 

1. For the dough break the chocolate into pieces and melt it in a bowl over a warm waterbath and let it cool (I used my minichocolate fondue, because that way it leaves me less things to clean afterwards xD). Mix the Butter, the sugar and one pkt of the vanilla sugar unitl it is frothy. Add the egg yolk and mix again. Stir the chocolate in, beat the eggwhites and stir in as well.

2. Mix the flour, the cornstarch, the baking powder and the almonds, sieve the mixture into the chocolate dough and mix again. Grease the form and put the dough in. Bake at 180°C for about 25 minutes. Let the sponge cake cool down and spit it into three layers

No huge difficulties so far. Only I did a stupid thing and forgot to add the baking powder. STUPID ME! The dough almost did not rise which was a little disappointing. So I also could just split it one time. But well.. in the end it was still yummy.

3. Take one base and sprinkle it with the kirsch and smear the jam upon it. Then arrange the half of the sour cherries on the base as well. and cover everything with cream. Put the second base upon the cream and do everything again with the second base. Put the last base ontop and cover everything with the rest of the cream. Decorate the cake with cherries and chocolate slivers.

As I forgot to put in the baking powder I just had 2 bases! Silly me ^^’

I had two friends over and we had a little kaffeeklatsch. It was really funny and we all liked the cake. We had tea and coffee and we all ate two slices. It was fun!!  My boyfriend also tried it later on and he really liked it too, which happens rarely as he has not really a sweet tooth.

12900002_10207519444598953_1185279406_n

Result:

It is a really easy cake to make (although it looks difficult). As long as you know how to read the list of ingredients (unlike me xD) you are safe. It was fun to make this cake, I’d definetly make it again!

Leave a Reply

